Skip to content

The Misconception Of Perception 

May 4, 2016

The Misconception of Perception

Simple Definition of perception according Merriam- Webster

: the way you think about or understand someone or something

: the ability to understand or notice something easily

: the way that you notice or understand something using one of your senses

misconception

a false or mistaken view, opinion, or attitude

I have been aiming to get this thought out for awhile, the title has been with me for a little over a month.  However today I was reminded that the misconception of perception ties into two things I have spoken much about this past week: Judgement and False Evidence Appearing Real. Perception is to supposed to be based solely on senses but if most of us lack trust in ourselves and others, than we truly lack the senses to know.

This current time in society has revealed stronger and broader than ever that we are living under the belief of so many lies, false labels, and ideas of how we think things should be. Whether someone taught them to us, or it maybe things we learned along the way, I have grasped to see that most things taught to me are not true, and many things I believed I only believed because someone told me I should.

In this current process of learning many things new, I now have a deeper sense of intuition and with this intuition, how I used to perceive things verses how I now see things, I realized perception can be judgemental and it’s mainly based on how far we know. Regardless of how I view it or what I think I see, perception will only let me see it from as far as my knowing.

So when I use my perception to determine anything, most likely I am wrong. However when I use my intuition to guide me I have a better understanding of what I am seeing. And with this use of intuition I have the tendency to ask the right questions instead of coming to false conclusions.

Today as I write to give a brief insight in the misconception of perception, I muster everything in me to use faith and trust to rise. I also now know to use intuition more instead of perception to avoid misconception of things I am facing. With intuition comes a deeper knowing and trust the guides inside, in perception there is more of a possibility to misconceive and miss the bigger mark.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

