Skip to content

Black Poetry Writing Month: Write A Poem That Ignites

February 1, 2016

2016 Black History Month

Lovely Curses

When I was in school, poetry was my least favorite genre of literature. I hated the flowery descriptions of love, I couldn’t understand the metaphoric language or the Shakespearian syntax, and when it came to rhyme scheme and meter, my attempts at mastering them always sounded elementary. My struggles had a lot to do with my inability to connect with any of the poems I studied in school. Early British Lit? Nah, I’ll pass. John Keats who? No, I do not want to write another Petrarchan sonnet.

However, in college, I took a course called Black Poetry on Page and on the Stage as part of my Gen Ed requirements, and it ignited a passion for poetry I never thought I’d have. Phillis Wheatley’s “On Being Brought From Africa to America,” one of the first poems I read in the class, would quickly become one of my favorites. It was easy to understand, it…

View original post 307 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

