Skip to content

Something to Think about for MLK Bday. Black History Month and Legacy

January 23, 2012

One of the things I fear when I write is how I express the thoughts in my head and the reactions they may cause.  Whether we like it or not, we all have a story to tell and sharing the details of your story is what provides the experience, the lessons, the morals, the effects and affects that it has made on you.

I recall my Life events to a  select few and we often laugh, cry and laugh more at the day’s event and often wonder “wonder” and often say “Damn Niki for real”

I often look at these events from a “world” perspective and ask myself do I have to be so “black”. However it is these black experiences that allow me to give the gift of laughter to most people I have encountered through my walk in Life.

I experience sooooo much JOY in being this “black” and because in this world we are often seen and called “ghetto” for EVERYTHING we do; I reluctantly share the parts of my experience, which truly NEEDS to be shared with the world simply because the world needs Joy. Some of the problems I see are we all have a tendency to label, define, and speak what this Joy should be for every individual missing just that “the individual”.

Therefore I desire to share to help erase and eradicate lies, judgement, and condemnation.  The three Sins that have divided, and is “threatening” to destroy the Black community and thus America.  Yes America without the “black” experience there would be no “money” be it from slavery to NFL, NBA, and Arts or government in any fashion you think of it or name it. Black people check your history and know your “WORTH”

You see another fearful quality about my writing is I know that I take classes to help explain writing to me but my writings, my thoughts, and ideas come to me in Spirit.  This is me doing this with Spirit working through me, and when you invite Spirit into your Life you have to be removed so Spirit can work and not me. Also when you invite Spirit into your Life you open the door for Truth, and when Truth comes you have to be able to face everything you have ever done. This is the part of my “blackness” that’s a HARD pill to swallow and not because it hasn’t been done before; its hard to swallow because when you are raised in a certain way, around certain people, with certain standards, it is hard to justify where all those standards went when you did the dumb shit you did.  My life has generated much attention and no matter what my intentions are and why I may have done, said, or demonstrated me in such ways; one cannot make another person see, believe, or understand the actual desired intentions most of the times.

I understand many of us share like experiences; yet this is my story and I know I have some experience from every “black” perspective you can name!!!!!  Many are called but a few are chosen!!!!!! The more I take the time to learn me, my lineage, my children, and history, I know, see, think, experience and posses thoughts that are not as common as they appear.  I was told in 2008 by a woman I meet- that I would speak when I realize that what I have to say, the world needs its and regardless of fear, I will share what I have.

Once again I am awaken with thoughts.  And the thoughts I am sensing to express in this writing is can we as Black people please stop and realize the impact we have placed upon our people and culture with our gossip, lies, ignorance, judgement, and condemnation.  I Truly need us ALL to stop “cursing” our people with our Words and destructive actions.  I understand many of us have problems seeing the point of changing now; yet if you are looking at TV everyday you have to SEE the reason WHY change is needed ASAP

Black People PLEASE PLEASE AND PLEASE STOP STOP and STOP.

There is no way we can have as many churches as we do, have as many millionaires as we have, have access to almost everything in the world, and still be as ignorant as we are.  This is Truly a disgrace and should not be possible.

You see if you really know black like I like I know black, you know we are inventors, innovators, movers, shakers, and hustlers -Where in those examples did I lie, judge, condemn, or gossip about anybody

If you know black like I know black, like I know black, then you know we had and should have morals, values, codes, silence, community, unity, and understanding

If you know black like I know black you don’t shot on Sundays, and if you aint at church your ass need to be sleep; you drink after High noon; and all the examples above keep you from selling dope on church property, arguing with most old people and take all ass kickins with dignity; only shooting people after having a meeting in the back of the courthouse because his actions can no longer be justified and he is just really bad for business

If you know Black, like I know Black, you would know “the World is Ghetto”  and the only thing ghetto about kool aid is you think its ghetto.

Whats threatening to destroy black is we have no idea how far we have with gone certain jokes and we refuse take them back.  Everyday “black” appears on TV, radio, internet, and “We-Fe” telling the world about this person and that person.  Whats threatening black is we know its a problem yet we can’t seem to make it stop “the shit just keeps calling us and calling us” Whats threatening black is every time anyone stands the chance of making us come together they find away to make your ass fly away!!!! Whats threatening black is if we stop talking about bullshit we will have to face the MUCHOS GRANDOS;  Ourselves, Our Future, Legacy. Whats threatening black is so many religious views and traditions that wont allow us to transcend beyond “Black”

What will save Black is You, Me, our Faith and “knowledge” knowing that we do come from a people who broke slavery and bondage; accomplished GREAT GREATS in EVERY facet of Life!!! What I see that will save Us ALL is we have to stop allowing them to make us think that the only way we can be heard or things are worth listening to and talking about are statements of gossiping, judging, condemning, or ridiculing someone elses situation. Another factor I see saving us, “is if we remove the plank out of our eye”  first before we nicely write, speak, broadcast, tweet, or FB  someone elses “life story” with our assumptions, presumptions, predictions, or forecasts.

And I know that our response will be if they talked about Jesus then you know people are going to talk about you; yet I have to ask with all these churches in America, 30 plus stations airing Gospel all day everyday, Gospel radio, XM, internet, Global networking we can’t see what happen from talking about Jesus and would not want to save another person half of the suffering He did? If we constantly tell the story of how horrific His death was, God gave His only begotten Son and His demise included the aspects of backstabbing, gossiping, lies, judgement and condemnation; with all these “republicans” of such high morals,  sanctified Baptists and churches no one wants to stop or can’t stop what TV and radio personalities are making Americas best choice?  Prayer was able to be taken out of schools who neighbors are churches, churches are schools, and in many places the churches use school auditoriums for services?

Please learn Your History, know Your People, know You and know GOD; and you will find your Truth and in your Truth you will find Love and this will be the deciding factor of your destiny!!

And in case you can’t see how this ties into MLK day think of all the things Dr. King stood for, think of all you seen and experience on his day of remembrance, and ask yourself do the things you see as the “norm” today in “Black” America reflect his dream or more of the things I mentioned- So can we please get back to his dream and the content of character.

written, typed, edited and shared by

Niki Alston

January 23, 2012 revised and re-written February 2, 2015

6 Comments
  1. You could definitely see your skills in the paintings you write. The world hopes for even more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. At all times follow your heart.

  2. Good day very nice site!! Man .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds also?I am happy to search out a lot of helpful information right here within the post, we’d like develop extra techniques in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

  3. hello there and thanks on your information ? I’ve definitely picked up something new from right here. I did on the other hand experience several technical points the usage of this website, as I experienced to reload the web site a lot of times previous to I may get it to load correctly. I were brooding about if your hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, however sluggish loading cases instances will very frequently affect your placement in google and can injury your quality ranking if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for much extra of your respective interesting content. Make sure you update this again very soon..

  4. Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I to find It really useful & it helped me out a lot. I am hoping to offer something back and aid others such as you aided me.

  5. The need to ascertain a name starts off with ‘a cement awareness associated with what we should are usually *… That we are usually african american…and possess a history…[that] there has been lovely …black history

  6. I like the helpful info you supply to your articles. I will bookmark your blog and test once more right here regularly. I am slightly certain I will be told many new stuff right right here! Good luck for the following!

Leave a Reply

