Skip to content

In The Middle revised April 2014

November 2, 2011

In The Middle©
By
Niki Alston

I possess nothing yet everything is accessible.

I was raised in the south
I grew up in the north
I lived and learned in the middle

Walked through my worst
Looking Forward to The Best

Scared to accept My Best
In fear of going back to that worst

Down to my last
of EVERYTHING

Therefore the Needs are High
High on a pile
That has me reaching the Sky

It’s amazing to be
Lifted this Up and down
Up enough to see Heaven
from down- Grateful it’s not below ground

The bottom is a physical
The peak is a Spiritual
But I am Living and Learning in the Middle

The middle of the Bible is Psalm 118; 549 chapters before and after: the shortest chapter in the Bible is Psalm 117; the longest chapter in the Bible is Psalm 119: The very center verse of the Bible is 118:8 “It is better to Trust in the Lord than to put confidence in man.”

On Earth this is My middle 118:8

I Live and Learn in the Middle
written and typed 2007; retyped and shared 10/23/2011 revised April 9 2014

2 Comments
  1. Mkhulumeli Sibanda permalink

    This is an amazing piece of work, purely creative and needs no further perfection as it perfectly stands head and shoulders above the rest. The poem has prompted me to take stock of myself as one of those who possess nothing with everything being accessible. Now when my managers push me to do the most difficult jobs I will understand that EVERYTHING is easy for a man who never does ANYTHING by himself. Your writings are inspiring me to stand up, be focused and rely on myself (not other people) because what belongs to EVERYBODY belongs to NOBODY. Coming to the BIBLE, the script reminds me of JESUS. He was not a writer/ author but the book about Him (Bible) is being read on the entire map of the World. He never traveled around the globe but He is known EVERYWHERE.

    • All I can say is THANK YOU!!! Thank YOU!!!! I write to express myself yet at the same time I do pray with the expression it will help someone other than me

Leave a Reply

